ROMEO AND JULIET QUESTIONS ACT 1, SCENES 4 AND 5

1. What does Benvolio say when Romeo asks what speech they should give to excuse themselves?

2. Explain the following puns.

a. Give me a torch. I am not for this ambling. / Being but heavy, I will bear the light.

b. Not I, believe me. You have dancing shoes / With nimble soles. I have a soul of lead / So stakes me to the ground I cannot move.

c. MERCUTIO: You are a lover. Borrow Cupid’s wings / And soar with them above a common bound.

ROMEO: I am too sore enpiercèd with his shaft / To soar with his light feathers, and so bound, / I cannot bound a pitch above dull woe. / Under love’s heavy burden do I sink.

3. What does Mercutio say about dreams?

4. What did Romeo dream of?

5. What makes Tybalt angry and why does he have to calm down?

6. What does Romeo say and do when he sees Juliet?

7. What metaphors do Juliet and Romeo use in their first encounter?

8. What does Juliet say when she knows Romeo is a Montague? What does Romeo say when he knows she is a Capulet?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

